Saturday, May 25, 2013

Radiobiz » Music Industry

Radiobiz » Music Industry:

All the MTN SAMA 19 Winners

Millions of viewers tuned into SABC 1 and witnessed the glitz, glam and the pizazz at the 19th Annual MTN South African Music Awards as Toya Delazy and Khuli Chana dominated the evening taking home 3 awards each at the Sun City Superbowl on Saturday, 11 May 2013.

For Toya Delazy who had kicked off the evening with a high octane performance alongside rapper Reason, the awards for Newcomer of the Year and Best Pop Album serve as confirmation of her newly found status in the industry after a breakout year in 2012 with her debut hit album, Due Drop Deluxe. Jax Panix scooped the Best Producer award the previous night for his work on Toya’s album.

The outrageously talented Khuli Chana finally had his moment to shine in the spotlight as all the years of hard work finally paid off for the former Motswako protégé as he took home the coveted Best Male Artist, Best Rap Album and Album of the Year awards.

Multi award winning Afro-fusion group Freshlyground scooped what must be fast becoming a familiar statuette for Duo or Group of the Year, further cementing their place as music royalty in South Africa.
The fiercely contested Female Artist of the Year award saw songbird Kelly Khumalo beat off stiff competition from a very talented field.

The almost three hour long show witnessed some unique and iconic collaborations from amongst others Zonke and Kabomo, ChianoSky with DJ Zinhle ft. Busiswa, Bobby van Jaarsveld with Oskido ft. Candy, Zozo & Sangere Superbeat, Desmond & The Tutus with Kabelo, Professor, Sfiso and Khaya ft. Proverb, Donald, Lira and crowd pleasers DJ Vetkuk & Mahoota ft. Dr Malinga & Manqoba amongst others.

The guest presenters on stage to hand over the awards were some of the leading names in the entertainment industry: Rapulana Seiphemo, Tsholo Monedi, Gareth Cliff, Zahara, Loyiso Bala, Tailor, Pearl Thusi, Tumi Morake, Theo Kgosinkwe, Nhlanhla Nciza, Zolisa Xaluva, Glen Lewis, Penny Lebyane, Tumi Morake, Greg Carlin and Thami Mgqolo.

An emotional tribute to artists and other industry players that have passed on during the last year was movingly performed by Bongeziwe Mabandla, Nina Schumann, Steve Dyer, Herbie Tsoaeli and CH2 over a visual montage of these fallen icons.

The Album of the Year medley was one of the major highlights of the star studded night as Khuli Chana, Kelly Khumalo, Maleh, Ntokozo Mbambo and The Muffinz took to the stage and left the over 5 000 strong crowd in rapturous applause.

It was then left to the popular Menzi Ngubane and Sophie Ndaba to close off the night and present the coveted Album of the Year to an utterly surprised Khuli Chana.

The full list of categories and winners for the 19th Annual MTN South African Music Awards are:
 Album of the Year
Khuli Chana Lost in Time
 Duo or Group of the Year
Freshlyground Take Me to the Dance
 Female Artist of the Year
Kelly Khumalo The Past, The Present, The Future
 Male Artist of the Year
Khuli Chana Lost in Time
 Newcomer of the Year
Toya Delazy Due Drop Deluxe
 Best Rock Album
Zebra & Giraffe The Wisest Ones
 Best Pop Album
Toya Delazy Due Drop Deluxe
 Best Adult Contemporary Album
Elvis Blue Journey
 Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album
Theuns Jordaan Roeper

 Best African Adult Album

Maleh Step Child
 Best Alternative Album

iScream & The Chocolate Stix The Paradox
 Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album

Khaya For You
 Best Rap Album

Khuli Chana Lost in Time
 Best Kwaito Album
Professor The Orientation
 Best Dance Album
Black Coffee Africa Rising
 Best Traditional Faith Music Album

Various Siprit of Praise Vol.4
 Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Ntokozo Mbambo Filled
 Best Traditional Album
Soul Brothers Isiphithiphithi
 Best Maskandi Album

Ichwane Lebhaca Inkunzi Yomthakathi
 Best Jazz Album

Herbie Tsoaeli African Time
 Best Classic & Instrumental Album - Presented by Kgomotso KG Moeketsi & Khetha Gwala

 Best Live DVD – Presented by James Shikwambana & Hanlie Nel

The Captured Tour Concert Film Lira
 Best Collaboration

Riot Feat. Zahara Thetha Nami
 Best Music Video of the Year – Presented by Penny Lebyane and Ben Maitsapo

Claudio Pavan for Honey Spiders (The Parlotones)
 Best Producer – Presented by Penny Lebyane and Ben Maitsapo

Jax Panik for Due Drop Deluxe (Toya Delazy)
 Best Engineer - Presented by Penny Lebyane and Ben Maitsapo

Mark Beling for Strong (BlackByrd)
 Remix of the Year

DJ Kent for Thinking about You Ft. Zonke DJ Kent Remix (Theo Kgosinkwe)
 Best Selling DVD
Vol. 16 Live at Carnival City Joyous Celebration
 Best Selling Album
Roeper Theuns Jordaan
 Best Selling Tru-Tone
Follow Me DJ Cleo ft. Teddy Bears
 Best Selling Ring-Back-Tone
Loliwe Zahara
 Best Selling Full-Track Download

You’re The Voice Shout/J23 – Artists for a safer South Africa
Did you like this? Share it:

'via Blog this'

No comments:

Post a Comment

"P" for PinPointing

naija update



Blog Archive